Project: Food Budget {Week 50}

Week 50?  Week 50!  For almost a year, I have been paying close attention to my food choices and food expenses.  I’ve been learning; I’ve been stumbling.  I’ve been on fire, and I’ve drifted away and back again.  Here is where I am this week.

Groceries ($118) + Church meal ($12) + Pizza out ($14) = $144

My official budget is $150.  My self-imposed budget is $100, but Cory and I had a long talk about this.  He hates that by the end of the weekend we are hunting for snackies, usually being grumpy while hunting for something to munch.  He asked me to get a few extra snacks and lunch makings, so I did.  I shop on Mondays.  It is now Thursday, and we still have lots of apples, a carton of strawberries, three nectarines, one banana, plenty of bread, peanut butter, and even sandwich meat (not a usual buy).  I think we will be good for the weekend!

This week I am serving the following:

Monday: Pizza out because I was totally exhausted.

Tuesday: BBQ chicken sandwiches in the Crock Pot and mixed vegetables

Wednesday: Dinner at the church ($12)

Thursday: Tacos, brown rice, chopped strawberries with a touch of whipped cream

Friday: Turkey chili in the Crock Pot.  Recipe here.

Saturday: Gnocchi with zucchini ribbons and parsely brown butter.  Recipe here.

Sunday: Chicken and apples in the Crock Pot.

I’ve had to move the gnocchi all over the menu because I couldn’t find zucchini at the grocery store, and I haven’t had a chance to go to the fruit stand.

Please take a moment to check out the other tenacious bloggers still in this project.

Week 50 Participating blogs:

One thought on “Project: Food Budget {Week 50}

  1. Erica,
    Candy sent me this link and I am grateful that she did. I am happy for your sake that you have made use of this outlet, but also for my own. I have long meant to be a journaler at least, but alas, i have only served to supply one more of the paving stones on that “road of good intentions” so far. Good job being a blogger and mom. Thanks for helping out Candy at MOPS also. It means a lot to many.
    Blessings,
    Matt

    P.s. Fletcher makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

